Books

Coming in 2017…

Jek/Hyde (as Amy Ross)

A contemporary YA retelling of the classic Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde.  Lulu and Jek are smart science nerds who are also best friends – or at least they used to be. Lately Jek has been pulling away, just when Lulu thinks she’s ready to tell him how she really feels about him. But soon a mysterious new guy starts showing up at local parties, seducing all the girls…  and some of the boys. His name is Hyde and he’s quickly becoming the talk of the town, but Lulu can’t pinpoint what it is about him that doesn’t feel quite right. When rumors float that Jek is getting close to Hyde, Lulu is determined to get to the bottom of things and save Jek before it’s too late.

Book of Shadows – Diary of a Haunting (as M. Verano)

All Melanie wants is a journal for her private thoughts, but she’s turned off by cutesy books with kittens or fairies on the cover.  One day while browsing in a used bookshop, she finds a beautiful blank book—black leather with strange symbols on the cover in gold embossing. She’s too intimidated to write in it at first, but before long, magic spells and images start appearing in the book that offer Mel and her friends everything they’ve ever wanted.

Soon the four friends discover that the spells suggested by the Book of Shadows really work—but the magical force behind them wants something terrible in return…


PossessonPossession (Diary of a Haunting), M. Verano.
August, 2016

In the tradition of Paranormal Activity and The Exorcist, an ordinary girl with a strange illness that doctors can’t seem to diagnose recounts her experience with the dark and ancient entity that’s making her sick in this chilling diary that features photos and images of what she experienced.

All her life, Laetitia Jones has only wanted to be a star. It’s more than an ambition—somewhere deep inside, she knows that she was born for greatness.

But her path to stardom now seems to be halted by a mysterious, undiagnosed illness that’s taken over her body. Doctors don’t have a clue and most days, she’s stuck at home documenting her strange symptoms—symptoms that start with fevers and chills, but soon escalate to bizarre bodily reactions.

Laetitia’s only escape from her illness is following the news—and the race riots that are moving closer and closer to her neighborhood. But when horrific visions begin to invade her mind, even the media can’t distract her and she begins to wonder—is her illness something biological…or is it something more? Are the voices she hears and the notes she finds in her own handwriting signs of insanity…or signs of something much more sinister and demonic? Or, perhaps, signs of something benevolent…something holy even.

Laetitia has always known she’d be famous…she just didn’t know it would happen this way.


1-diaryofahauntingDiary of a Haunting, M. Verano.
August, 2015

Following her parents’ high-profile divorce, Paige and her brother are forced to move to Idaho with their mother, and Paige doesn’t have very high hopes for her new life. The small town they’ve moved to is nothing compared to the life she left behind in LA. And the situation is made even worse by the drafty old mansion they’ve rented that’s filled with spiders and plenty of other pests that Paige can’t even bear to imagine.

Pretty soon, strange things start to happen around the house—one can of ravioli becomes a dozen, unreadable words start appearing on the walls, and Paige’s little brother begins roaming the house late at night. And there’s something not right about the downstairs neighbor who seems to know a lot more than he’s letting on.

Things only get creepier when she learns about the cult that conducted experimental rituals in the house almost one hundred years earlier. The more Paige investigates, the clearer it all becomes: there’s something in the house, and whatever it is…and it won’t be backing down without a fight.


Other work:

Short fiction:

The Sissy
Summer Salad
A Brief History of America According to Motel Marquees

Academic work:

Revisiting The Body in Pain: The Rhetoric of Modern Masochism
False Eyelashes for Everyone

Journalism:

Punched in the Throat by Steve Almond